

2024 FALL CONVOCATION September 12, 2024 Campus Center Ballroom 11 a.m.

Processional

Opening Remarks
Provost Joseph Berger

Recognition of New and Newly Tenured or Promoted Faculty Provost Joseph Berger

Chancellor's Address Chancellor Marcelo Suárez-Orozco

Presentation of the John A. Ryan Award Chancellor Marcelo Suárez-Orozco

Keynote Address Avak Kahvejian, PhD, Partner, Flagship Pioneering

Closing Remarks Chancellor Marcelo Suárez-Orozco

Recessional

Following the Convocation ceremony, guests are invited to the chancellor's barbecue located on the Campus Center Plaza.

We are pleased to welcome the following new faculty and congratulate those who have achieved tenure or have been promoted in the College of Education and Human Development (CEHD), College of Liberal Arts (CLA), College of Management (CM), College of Science and Mathematics (CSM), Manning College of Nursing and Health Sciences (MCNHS), and School for the Environment (SFE).

New Faculty		
Hanan Abdelrahman	Nursing	MCNHS
Tumilara Aderibigbe	Nursing	MCNHS
Nadia Mustafa Ali	School for Global Inclusion and	CEHD
	Social Development	
Derrais Carter	Africana Studies	CLA
Laura Castro Diaz	Urban Planning and Community	SFE
	Development	
Katherine (Katie) Daffron	School for the Environment	SFE
Jose D'Incao	Physics	CSM
Shangyang Fang	English	
Sheldon George	Africana Studies	CLA
Demeturie Gogue	Leadership in Education	CEHD
Jose Gomez-Espinal	Political Science	CLA
Kazuki Ikeda	Physics	CSM
Tales Imbiriba	College of Science and Mathematics	CSM
Patricia Janulewicz Lloyd	Urban Public Health	MCNHS
Bayinnah Jeffries	Africana Studies	CLA
Michelle Jiang	Economics	CLA
Meredith Laferte-Coutu	Philosophy	CLA
Son Ca Lam	Asian American Studies	CEHD
Hyeun Jung Lee	Management	CM
Trevor Memmott	Public Policy and Public Affairs	CLA
Marcelle Mentor	Curriculum and Instruction	CEHD
Danielle Morales	Sociology	
Jesslynn Neves-McCain	Counseling and School Psychology	CEHD
Lien Quach	Urban Public Health	MCNHS
Luis Ramos	Urban Planning and Community	SFE
	Development	
Mukullika Ray	Biology	CSM
Roberto Renteria	Psychology	CLA
Leili Pour Rostami	Accounting and Finance	CM
Catriona Standfield	Conflict Resolution, Human Security, and Global Governance	CLA
Carol Thornber	School for the Environment Dean's Office	
Hieu Tran	Accounting and Finance	CM
Suisui Wang	Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies	CLA
Hettie V. Williams	Trotter Institute	
Nan Zeng	Exercise and Health Science	MCNHS
Newly Tenured Faculty		
Serra Acar	Curriculum and Instruction	CEHD
Chris Barcelos	Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies	CLA
Brian Daniels	Counseling and School Psychology	CEHD

Joao De Souza	Economics	CLA
Luis (Danny) Gascon	Sociology	CLA
Mohammed Gharbi	Physics	CSM
Tyler Hull	Accounting and Finance	CM
Shuai Jin	Political Science	CLA
Michael Rahaim	Engineering	CSM
Jeffrey Stokes	Gerontology	MCNHS
Tim (Songtian) Zeng	Counseling and School Psychology	CEHD

Newly Promoted to Full Professor

Michael Carr	Economics	CLA
Amy Cook	Counseling and School Psychology	CEHD
Silvia Dorado-Banacloche	Management	CM
Mine Ertugrul	Accounting and Finance	CM
Lucia Gao	Accounting and Finance	CM
Jason Green	Chemistry	CSM
Rosalyn Negron	Anthropology	CLA
Erin O'Brien	Political Science	CLA
Lorna Rivera	Leadership in Education	CEHD
Emilio Sauri	English	CLA
Michael Tlusty	School for the Environment	SFE
Kourosh Zarringhalam	Mathematics	CSM

Non-Tenure-Track Promotions Kathryn Archard

Tion Tenure Track Fromotions		
Kathryn Archard	Management	CM
Dana Commesso	Exercise and Health Science	MCNHS
Ian Drinkwater	Student Equity, Access, and Success	
Janice Goldman	Management	CM
Avak Hasratian	English	CLA
Katherine Hatzis	Management	CM
Matthew Lehman	Mathematics	CSM
Linda Liu	Sociology	CLA
Daniel Messier	English	CLA
Matthew Pustz	American Studies	CLA
Mark Radding	Accounting and Finance	CM
Mark Schafer	Latin American and Iberian Studies	
Carol Sharicz	Curriculum and Instruction	
David Sigmon	gmon Biology (joint appt with Nursing)	
Amy Todd	Anthropology	CLA
Gretchen Umholtz	Classics and Religious Studies	CLA
Valentina Urbanek	Philosophy	CLA
Vesela Veleva	Management	CM

Librarian Promotions

Meghan Bailey	Librarian IV	
Andrew Elder	Librarian V	
Eunkyung Lee	Librarian IV	
Mary Moser	Librarian V	
Lauren Movlai	Librarian IV	

CONVOCATION KEYNOTE SPEAKER

Avak Kahvejian Partner, Flagship Pioneering



Avak Kahvejian is a life sciences inventor, entrepreneur, and CEO who has cofounded more than ten companies. Since 2011, he has been a partner at Flagship Pioneering, where he leads a team to invent and launch new therapeutic platforms. His work has led to the creation of multiple high-value public and private companies including Seres Therapeutics, Ring Therapeutics, Cellarity, Laronde (a predecessor to Sail Biomedicines), Generate Biomedicines, ProFound Therapeutics,

Ampersand Biomedicines, Cygnal Therapeutics, Rubius Therapeutics, and Codiak BioSciences.

Kahvejian served as founding president and CEO of Rubius from 2013 to 2017, as co-CEO of Generate from 2018 to 2021, and as founding CEO of Cellarity (2017 to 2020), Laronde (2017 to 2020), Ring (2017 to 2020), ProFound (2020 to 2023), and Ampersand (2021 to 2023). He is on the boards of Cellarity and Sail and is chairman of Ring.

Prior to Flagship, he was vice president of business development at Helicos BioSciences. In this role, he developed and commercialized the world's first single molecule DNA sequencer.

He serves as the chairman of the board of the International Institute of New England, an institution that creates opportunities for refugees and immigrants to succeed through resettlement, education, career advancement, and pathways to citizenship. He is also on the board of Genome Canada, the advisory board of the Foundation for Armenian Science and Technology (FAST), and the McGill University Regional Advisory Board US.

Kahvejian earned his PhD and BSc in biochemistry from McGill University in Montreal, Canada.